29.1 C
New Delhi
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
HomeIndiaDespite BJP’s objections, Shashi Tharoor retained as head of Parliamentary panel on...

Despite BJP’s objections, Shashi Tharoor retained as head of Parliamentary panel on IT

Member of Congress Shashi Tharur was named head of the parliamentary committee on information technology, ANI news agency reported, despite objections from committee members. Bharatiya Janata Party (Bjp).

The term of the previous committee expired on 12 September. Tarur’s chairmanship of the previous standing committee has been criticized on several occasions by BJP MP Nishikant Dubey.

As reported Indian express Earlier, Dubey had sent a “notice of privilege” to Speaker Lok Sabh’s office in July against Tharuor for allegedly abusing his power as head of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Information and Technology.

The IT group is expected to discuss Pegasus spyware problem, and called officials from the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology (MeitY), the Ministry of the Interior and the Department of Telecommunications on the subject of Citizen Data Security and Privacy. However, the meeting did not take place, since 10 BJP members present did not sign the attendance log, and hence the lack of a quorum.

However, Tarour told reporters that Dubi’s proposal was not “legally binding” because no established procedures were followed when making a proposal that requires the Speaker to obtain House approval before it can be submitted.

In a separate letter written to Speaker Om Birla, Dubi claimed that Tarur violated the committee’s rules as “he became harbinger of all vicious actions“.

Again in August, after the leader of Congress sent Facebook asking him to appear in front of the IT panel, Dubi moved privilege violation notification against the chairman of the committee.

“Tharur has transcended all the limits of decency, ethics and basic principles of parliamentary procedure and practice with regard to the smooth functioning of a parliamentary committee by committing a serious violation of his privileges, not only as a separate honorary member of parliament. , Lok Sabha, while remaining in the high position of chairman of one of the most important standing committees associated with the department, namely Information Technology, ”Dubey said in his notice.

Meanwhile, a member of the BJP Dry Kumar Modi appointed as the new chairman of the parliamentary committee on personnel, public complaints, law and justice. Congresswoman Anand Sharma was retained as head of the parliamentary group on internal affairs, and Jeyram Ramesh from the group on science and technology, environment, forests and climate change.

YSR Congresswoman V. Vijayasai Reddy will once again chair the Parliament’s Standing Committee on Trade. Likewise, TMC member Sudip Bandyopadhyay was reappointed as head of the Food, Consumer and Social Distribution Unit, and BJD member Bhartruhari Makhtab of the Labor Group.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments