New Zealand call up former Dutch all-rounder Michael Rippon for European tour


New Zealand cricket have named former Dutch all-rounder Michael Rippon to their 15-man international Twenty20 team for a tour of Europe in July and August. Rippon, 30, a native of Cape Town, moved to New Zealand from South Africa in 2013 and played 31 times for the Netherlands, including a three-match one-night international streak against the Black Caps in March.

The International Cricket Board’s eligibility rules allow players to represent an associated nation while still being available to play as a full member. However, they cannot return to play for an associated nation for three years after being listed as a full member. Tom Latham will captain New Zealand’s ODI team in a three-match series against Ireland from 10 to 15 July, after which Mitchell Santner will captain.

New Zealand will play three T20s against Ireland in Belfast, two T20s and ODIs against Scotland in Edinburgh, and two T20s against the Netherlands in Amsterdam on 4 and 5 August.

Bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will lead the team for the tour of Ireland, while head coach Gary Stead will rejoin the group for Scotland and the remainder of the series. Kane Williamson, Trent BoultTim Southey and Devon Conway are out of the tour and will return to New Zealand after a test series against England.

ODI Lineup: Tom Latham (Captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Dane Cleaver, Jacob Duffy, Locky Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Adam Milne, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodie, Blair Tickner, Will Young .
T20 line-up: Mitchell Santner (Captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Locky Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell Jimmy NishamGlenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here