Rohit Sharma named India T20 squad skipper, Kohli rested


Indian cricket heralds a new beginning: on Tuesday, Rohit Sharma appointed T20 skipper to replace Virat Kohli, who ended his role in the shortest format by relegation at the World Championships. Sharma will be the first to face new head coach Rahul Dravid in a T20 home series against New Zealand this month as Kohli took a hiatus.

The rise of Sharma, who was vice captain, was expected, confirmation will appear in a statement from the Indian cricket board announcing the squad for the T20 three-legged streak to be played in Jaipur (17 Nov), Ranchi (19 Nov) and Kolkata. (November 21). The BCCI did not mention Sharma’s tenure, but he plans to lead the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia. K.L. Rahul has been appointed Vice Captain.

The T20 will be followed by a series of two tests and Kohli is expected to return only for the second game in Mumbai. “Kohli will also be taking a break from the first test against New Zealand,” said a BCCI spokesman.

Sharma, 34, is India’s oldest current player, making his international debut as a big talent in June 2007. In the same year, he played on the triumphant T20 World Cup team in South Africa and returned to that country for his first Indian Prime Minister. League title with Deccan Chargers in 2009. He has four international T20 tournaments.

While his white ball career has skyrocketed after being promoted to captain MS Dhoni in 2013, he honed his leadership skills with the Mumbai Indians, leading them to a record five IPL titles. It was rumored last year if Sharma, who had just won MI in 2020, would get the T20 captaincy. Outgoing coach Ravi Shatri and Kohli talked about Sharma’s contribution to the team, as they said on Monday that his promotion would be a formality.

Indian cricket returns to split captaincy. “I think it’s not that bad,” Shastri said on Monday. “At Rohit you have a very capable guy. He has won so many IPLs. He was the vice captain. ” Koli and Dhoni, and before that Anil Kumble and Dhoni, shared the captaincy.

The selection committee, led by Chetan Sharma, may have to make a few more key decisions, including Kohli, who continues to serve as ODI skipper. It is likely that Sharma may soon become the leader of both teams on the white ball. “You will soon find out. National selectors will answer the call, ”the official said.

The selectors also rested Jasprit Bumra, Mohammad Shami and Ravindra Jadeja for the T20. Eight players from the T20 World Cup squad will miss the New Zealand streak. The Hardik Pandya wagon, who fought for a fitness bowling game, was not included. Spinner Rahul Chahar will travel to South Africa with India A, while Yuzvendra Chahal, a controversial World Cup omission, has been withdrawn.

The selectors have announced nine new names in the 16-man squad. Ruturaj Gaikwad, a young batsman from Maharashtra who finished as the IPL’s top scorer this season alongside the Chennai Super Kings champions, and Madhya Pradesh player Venkatesh Iyer, who, as the first player, impressed by finishing second. The Knights Riders of Calcutta and the Bowled seam-up team were involved.

Venkatesh, 26, will strive to take on the role of a versatile athlete. Pandya’s selection for the World Cup sparked controversy after the selectors realized he was not fit for bowling. Continuing as a slugger, Pandya was only able to hit four under-rated goals in five matches. He was also largely inferior in the batsman game.

Shardul Thakur and Varun Chakaravarti from the World Cup team were also fired, both finishing without a wicket in the UAE. Chakravarti played with a problematic knee and calf, and despite a few economical overs, he did not live up to his account as a mysterious breakout bowler.

Gaikwad had an outstanding IPL with 635 runs, including a hundred. In July, the 24-year-old musician was on an Indian tour of Sri Lanka. He was also in great shape at the current Mushtaq Ali T20 tournament.

The selectors also honored two pacers for their outstanding IPLs – Avesh Khan and Harshal Patel, who also plays great with the bat. Khan was a regular with the Delhi Capitals and also participated in the England Test series. Patel was a purple baseball cap holder in the IPL, where he dodged the best with his mixture of slower balls, most notably off cutters, particularly in deadly overs.

With Boomra and Shami resting, Mohammed Siraj enters the T20 mix, playing a key role in India’s recent test wins. Aksar Patel, Shreyas Iyer and Deepak Chahar, who were in the UAE as backups, returned to the team. Tearaway Jammu and Kashmir quick Umran Malik, who impressed Sunrisers Hyderabad, was selected for India A’s South Africa tour.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here