30.1 C
New Delhi
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
HomeWorld NewsSingapore extends vaccinated travel lane scheme to 8 more countries

Singapore extends vaccinated travel lane scheme to 8 more countries

Singapore will expand its Vaccinated Road Lane (VTL) scheme to eight more countries from October 19, allowing travelers fully vaccinated against COVID-19 to enter the city-state without going through quarantine, media reported on Saturday, citing the Civil Aviation Administration.

Fully vaccinated travelers from Canada, Denmark, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, the United Kingdom and the United States will be able to enter Singapore under this arrangement from October 19, Channel News Asia reported, citing the Civil Aviation Administration of Singapore (CAAS).

According to CAAS, the expansion is being undertaken “carefully and in stages” to help “reclaim and restore” Singapore’s status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity.

“The vaccinated routes will restore two-way traffic without quarantine between Singapore and the eight newly announced countries,” Transport Minister S. Isvaran said at a news conference on Saturday.

This comes after “experience and confidence” in the first two vaccinated travel routes with Brunei and Germany that were opened last month, CAAS added.

On Friday, Singapore announced another VTL with South Korea starting November 15th.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong ruled out full isolation on Saturday, although Singapore reported 3,590 cases of infection on Friday, including 765 in hostels for migrant workers, and six deaths.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Recent Comments