Constitution Day Live Updates: Congress, TMC to boycott President Kovind’s address today


President Ram Nath Kovind. (File)

Why is November 26 celebrated as Constitution Day?

In May 2015, the Union Cabinet announced that November 26 would be celebrated as Constitution Day to promote “constitutional values ​​among citizens.” This year marks the 125th anniversary of the birth of the Chairman of the Drafting Commission of the Constitution, B. R. Ambedkar. Other participants included Jawaharlal Nehru, Vallabbhai Patel and Shayama Prasad Mukherjee.

The central government’s decision was seen as an attempt to claim Ambedkar’s legacy in an attempt to appeal to the Dalit community. After a cabinet meeting in 2015, then-Minister of Social Justice and Empowerment Tavar Chand Gelot said, “Rahul Gandhi and his party never honored Ambedkar. He also did not receive Bharat Ratna and his oil painting was not installed in the parliament building while Congress was in power. “

The Constituent Assembly, the body charged with drafting the Constitution of India, held its first session on December 9, 1946, which was attended by 207 members, including nine women. Initially, the assembly had 389 members, but after independence and the partition of India, its size was reduced to 299. It took the assembly more than three years to draft a constitution, and it took more than 114 days to consider the content of the draft alone.

On December 13, 1946, Nehru introduced a “Resolution on Objectives,” which was later adopted as a preamble on January 22, 1947.

The drafting committee, chaired by Ambedkar, was one of more than 17 committees of the Constituent Assembly. Their task was to prepare a draft constitution for India. Of the approximately 7,600 amendments introduced, this committee excluded approximately 2,400 amendments during the deliberations and deliberations of the constitution.

The last session of the Constituent Assembly ended on November 26, 1949, when the Constitution was adopted, and two months later, on January 26, 1950, it entered into force after 284 deputies signed it. January 26 was chosen because, in 1930, a Congress resolution on Purna Swaraj was announced.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here