Hockey India announces 20-member men’s squad for Asian Champions Trophy


Hockey India on Friday selected the 20-man men’s squad for the Asian Champions Cup to be held in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

Bronze medalist of the Tokyo Olympics, India will kick off its campaign against Korea on December 14, and will play against hosts Bangladesh on December 15.

Their third match will be against the main rivals Pakistan on December 17, and the next day, December 18, India will play Malaysia, and their match against Japan will take place on December 19.

The semi-final will take place on December 21st and the final will take place on December 22nd. The previous tournament was held in Muscat, Oman, where India, together with Pakistan, lifted the title as the final was canceled due to incessant rains.

Manpreet Singh will be the team captain with Harmanpreet Singh as his deputy.

The team includes goalkeepers Krishan B Pathak and Suraj Karkera.

Harmanpreet Singh will lead the attack alongside Gurinder Singh, Jarmanprit Singh, Nilam Sanjip Zess, Dipsan Tirki, Varun Kumar and Mandip Mor in defense.

Manprit Singh, Hardik Singh, Manprit Singh, Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Shamsher Singh and experienced Akashdeep Singh will patrol the middle of the field.

The front line will be led by Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh and Shilanand Lakra.

“Now, when choosing this team, we must look to the future. To achieve sustained success, you need a strong and strong team, so players need to be given the opportunity to compete, ”said head coach Graham Reed.

“We chose a team that has good experience and young guys who will have a chance to show what they are capable of. It’s a busy schedule of matches, and given COVID-19 The FIH and AHF situation allowed 18 players to be selected in each game from over 20 players.

“We are looking forward to the challenge,” he added.


Goalkeepers: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, Suraj Karkera
Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh (VK), Gurinder Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh, Dipsan Tirki, Varun Kumar, Neelam Sanjip Zess, Mandip Mor
Midfielders: Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh (K), Jaskaran Singh, Sumit, Rajkumar Pal, Akashdeep Singh, Shamsher Singh
Forwards: Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Dilpreet Singh, Gursahibjit Singh, Shilanand Lakra


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here